Guest Post Featuring Eric Swett

Good morning everyone! I’d like to take a moment to introduce you to a good friend of mine, Eric Swett, and his newest book, Apocalypse In The Balance. Without any further ado, take it away, Eric.

Finding the Fantastic in Fallen Places

If you turn on a television and watch an American made program you will see beautiful suburban landscapes, gritty cities so large that they boggle the senses, or pastoral countrysides filled with farms or forests. Each of these scenes appeal to us on some level and for different reasons, but they lack originality. Even Batman’s Gotham fills our consciousness as a darker New York, with its shadows so much deeper and they architecture just slightly more menacing. It is easy to write about these places and to stay in these archetypes because they are easy to understand and comprehend. They take little description because the mere mention of skyscrapers or farms or little ranch style homes surrounded by white picket fences all conjure images that have been blasted into our subconscious.

In my latest book, Apocalypse in the Balance, I use just such archetypes to describe the city where all of the action takes place. Soaring skyscrapers filled with the titans of industry, the poor part of town with its dark allies and violence, and the suburbs with their banality. Conjuring up a setting from my mind is personal and watching it take shape on the paper can be immensely satisfying, but this template leaves a little something to be desired.

One thing I like to do to break up the every day is to use special locations to make a scene more memorable. For inspiration I look toward places that have been abandoned in the real world. You would be surprised to know how many locations right outside the polished parts of any town and city are left to rot with disuse. Infusing these abandoned locales with a unique ambiance will make them stand out in the reader’s mind and memory.

house

How hauntingly beautiful is this abandoned outpost in Cambodia? Could you reimagine it as whole again? What about relocating it from the top of a hill to the center of a city? Who lives there? Rebels hiding from a vicious dictator? A clan of vampires feeding on the poor abandoned individuals of a city drowning in crime? Perhaps it is the secret temple of a cult bent on bringing about the end of the world.

Broken down locations are great for building back up and they can make a great addition that will stand out in your collection of locals.

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Apocalypse in the Balance:

Apocalypse in the BalanceFive years have passed since the Angel of Death made a very public appearance in the middle of New Arcadia. Since then the city has become a hub of activity for the supernatural. Most people are blissfully unaware of the powerful forces at work in their city, and the darkness bubbling under the surface could not be happier.

Businessman and criminal kingpin Kohaku Hitaratsu finds his world turned upside down, and he is forced to seek refuge in the slums he left behind. He no longer rules the neighborhood that was the foundation of his empire and he must find a way to survive on the streets with little more than a pickup truck to his name.

When Kohaku finds his neighborhood and his new found home under siege by monsters better found in nightmares, he chooses to stand and fight rather than simply survive.

Standing up to the darkness draws the attention of forces better left alone, and Kohaku is caught in a tug of war between the all too familiar evils of his life and the light within that is struggling to get out.

Friends and relatives choose sides in his struggle, but ultimately it is the love of a woman that will determine his course and could decide the fate of the world.

BUY IT NOW FROM AMAZON

10% of all royalties will be donated to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

Author Eric SwettAbout the Author: Eric Swett is an author and IT professional living in Mooresville, NC. He is the husband of Tracy and the father of Zachary, Connor, and Kaitlyn. Eric is a rabid Arizona Cardinals fan and a lover of most things geek, and hes been before either of them were cool. When he is not writing or spending time with his family, he is reading and playing the occasional video game. His favorite authors include Ben Bova, H. P. Lovecraft, Robert Jordan, J. R. R. Tolkien, and L. Ron Hubbard. His favorite Bands/Musicians include The Beatles, KISS, AC/DC, Yoko Kanno, John Williams, and Imagine Dragons.

facebook3pinterest3google_plus3icon-amazon

 

 

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Post Featuring Eric Swett

  1. Eric Swett says:

    Reblogged this on My Writer's Cramp and commented:
    Good morning! Here is the first stop on my blog tour in support of Apocalypse in the Balance. Make sure to stop in, give it a read, and hit up the Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win an autographed copy of one of my books.

  2. Pingback: Finding the Fantastic in Fallen Places - My Writer's Cramp

  3. Pingback: The Blog Tour Is Coming To An End - My Writer's Cramp

Leave a Reply

