In the Books featuring Ramona’s Angel by P.L. Jenkinson

Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of In the Books, featuring Ramona’s Angel by P.L. Jenkinson.

Ramona's Angel

About the Book: Ramona’s Angel isn’t as soft and fluffy as the title might have you believe. There’s nothing heavenly or angelic in this story. This is a dark tale of deception and intrigue taking the reader along on an emotional roller-coaster as the main character’s life unravels around him. The ripple effects of which, stretch far and wide. It all starts with a trauma call to the local Emergency Department and the blood covered victim of an assault. Who is the man in the hospital bed and what does he have to do with Robbie? As memories drip back slowly, all stirring up despair for someone who’d rather forget. The South-West coast of Scotland somehow ties the man to these recollections which eventually turn his whole world on its head in a way he could never have imagined. The real story begins in Scotland. A small coastal, fishing village. It’s based on a village I know well. In the story, a little boy is taken away. Skip forward thirty years to present day Yorkshire, in the north of England, and we find Robbie. Something connects him to that little boy, but only his mother knows what. Wracked with guilt, she confesses to her husband who persuades her to come clean. This truth almost destroys him, but he goes back to the village to find out more from the people who know. His life is then governed by countless twists and revelations of cruelty long since buried.

My Review: Right away I have to be honest in that I’m not a big fan of reading books about abuse of any sort. I read for escapism, but this was different. To me, the abuse was more of a vehicle to use in telling the story instead of the usual stories romanticizing it or making it the focus, and that gave the story a tremendous boost.

Imagine waking up one day to find out your life isn’t really yours, and that you now have the chance to find out your real past. The author does a wonderful job of making us feel the fear and frustration Robbie goes through in his new journey, along with the heartache waiting for him.

Written with a Scottish and English accent, this was an interesting change of pace instead of the, “He said man like mahn” type of storytelling. It may not be for everyone, but it was something I really enjoyed and look forward to in the rest of the books in the series.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

