Plans, Smoke, and Taxes

Good morning everyone!

Okay, as I’m sure you can tell by the title, this post is going to be an interesting one.

CP author pic

When the New Year started, I planned on 2015 being a revision year for many of my previously written but not yet published books with some novella writing on the side. Instead, I threw myself totally into writing my horror novellas.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about cranking out a handful of novellas. I’m more upset I forgot all about the revision part of my plan until, you guessed it, April 15. How fitting that I did a small self-audit on the last day of US tax day. I swear, I couldn’t have planned this if I tried.

So, what does it all mean?

Well, after this Camp NaNo (I already hit my goal of 20k. WHOOT!), I’m going to focus on typing up The Sword and the Flame: The Dragonmaster and finishing reediting Call of Poseidon. My novellas won’t take long to transcribe, so I’ll be able to work those in around the revisioning projects I have lined up. Did I mention a release of The Winter Creek Hunter in mid-May? Guess that’s another post. 😀

All of that should keep me busy until the next Camp NaNo (in July, I think?). For that camp, I’m going to work on my first ever choose-your-own-adventure mystery book. I want to start plotting that in May, and this is something I’m really looking forward to. Once that’s complete in Camp, I’ll go back into my revision mode.

Sounds simple, right? I wish. I’m sure I’m going to be fighting off my muse the whole time, so I also have November’s NaNoWriMo ready to go. Simply put, I want to finish the fifth Sword and the Flame novel and a sci-fi thriller I started last year but set aside due to writing myself into a corner.

The only problem I foresee is history repeating itself and my plans going up in smoke. I’m not used to planning ahead like this, so it should be fun either way.

What do you all have planned or haven’t you gotten that far ahead yet?

 

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plans, Smoke, and Taxes

  1. edireland says:

    My writing schedule has been thrown into some kind of writer’s hell the last few months. Once I settle into the new place, I’m hoping I’ll get back to the daily routine I miss so much. I need to finish the trilogy first and foremost. From there, on to a cookbook, another book in the Huntress series and I have a crime drama I’m tossing around in my head. Lol, also a bunch of shorts that need endings, a few more poems…hmmm, this looks like a list for 3 or 4 people…

  2. rogerdcolby says:

    I spent 6 months planning and writing the backstory for my new series. It has paid off in spades. I’ve constructed a multi-layered plot, have deeper characters and an all around exciting novel for the first part of the series. Keep at it. I take one project at a time, otherwise my ADHD begins to stray me away from finishing a major project.

    • cpbialois says:

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      That’s so cool. There’s nothing like seeing all your hard work pay off like that.

      I usually havea a couple of projects at once, but my mise is never satisfied. lol I do try to focus on the “main” one until I get stuck and need to switch for a while. With all that said, sometimes less is better. lol

  3. jamiewauthor says:

    Reblogged this on White's Wyrd World and commented:
    For day “P” of the A to Z Challenge, I thought I would reblog this post from my husband talking about his plans for the rest of this year. I had some plans myself that haven’t quite worked out the way I wanted.

    I’d hoped to get all the projects I wanted to work on this month plotted, but it didn’t happen and now I am finding myself pantsing it. See what I did there? 🙂 Anyway… some cool things are in the works, so if you want to keep informed about them, be sure to go over to http://www.jamielwhite.com and click “subscribe” on my newsletter. I’ll be sending an issue out tonight or in the morning.

    I hope the rest of you participating ( 🙂 ) in CampNaNo are having an easier time than I and for anyone who isn’t? Well, I hope your getting through the goals you’ve set for yourself for this year.

Leave a Reply

