In the Books featuring A New Dawning by Ed Ireland

Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of In the Books featuring A New Dawning (The Chronicles of the Free People Book 3) by Ed Ireland.

Disclaimer: I was given a free ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

A New Dawning 1

About the Book: For twenty years the Clans have kept the peace. They have spent their days and nights away from the boundaries imposed by the Goddess. They kept true to her word and allowed the years to pass without incident.

In Rahz Ahmoon, the old order is about to pass and the greatest threat the Clans ever faced returns, bringing depravity and terror to the destruction. Along the tranquil shores of the Shimmering Seas, another threat looms. A threat the Clans have been dreading for twenty years. These two incidents will return them to the most savage days they have ever seen.

In Bandashar, rebellion and plague rise to defeat the loyal. Hol stands ready to defend the fair lands of Dagor as Bandashar dies amid flames of prejudice and hate while purgatory fills the world with flames of tyranny and betrayal. In Wraithwood the Queen is abducted while a mysterious journal in Var Libra hints at both the creation of the world so long ago and the destruction of it so close to the present.

Hellion and Fire must do the best they can amid all of these waves that are about to crash onto the Clans. As the climax draws closer, they both wonder many things. They wonder, that when the last secrets of Var Libra are exposed, when the last cities have scattered their ashes, when the last echoes of a world at war are silenced and when the last breaths of the Clans are drawn…

Who will remember their story? Who will insure that the world will know what happened? Who will keep them alive in story and song so that the world does not forget? Or will the world cease to exist as well?

 

My Review: This has been a fun series to read. Like the other books in the series, A New Dawning follows the Free People as they struggle to maintain the peace between them and the other peoples. Add to it their Goddess helping to guide them and an old enemy resurfacing and things couldn’t get more exciting.

In the first book, the bigotry shown to the White Tiger Clan by the people of Banashar is hinted at, but we get to see it in full bloom when King Verimas dies. It would be easy to let such a topic sidetrack the story, and I enjoyed how the author handled it within the story. It does seem a little fast, but when you consider the indepth planning the main characters thrive on, it’s not surprising and left me with a satisfied feeling.

The wide range of characters were both entertaining and irritating, but I mean that in a good way. One constant in life is the impetuousness and uncertainty of youth. While I wanted to shake a couple of them at times, the grown children of the Tiger Clan found their way and took more responsibility. Their growth from babies in the previous books to taking over in parts of this book left hints at the possibility of future adventures.

Two of my favorites were Hellion and his wife, Fire. They were a perfect match in every way, but they weren’t infallible and they knew that. The uncertainty they carried, as did most of the characters, made them feel as rea as any flesh and blood person.

The story was a huge undertaking, but I feel it was done well. As with any story with so many characters and locations, there are a lot of shifts between scenes, but they were handled well. While this can be read as a standalone story, due to the many characters and places I recommend reading the first two books in the series to help keep track of everything.

I’m not going to give away any spoilers, but I loved the ending. It had a sad, yet satisfying feel to it as all the events from previous stories were brought to a close while planting seeds for future tales. Needless to say, this is a great addition to any fantasy fan’s library.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Books featuring A New Dawning by Ed Ireland

  1. edireland says:

    Thank you for the great review! I was so nervous about the ending, particularly for those that have been following the series. I remembered your review of the missed opportunity in the first book about the prejudicial issues faced by the Clan and thought this would be the perfect opportunity to bring a side-story in on this topic.
    I hadn’t truthfully thought of continuing adventures of the Clan, more on focusing on things that occurred in the time span between books 2 & 3. The idea of the future adventures is intriguing to say the least. At any rate, the next planned book is an in-depth look at the start of the clans that will include a better look at their first years, how they were trained and so forth. The book will end with the famed “Battle of Var” that has been spoken of for the entire series.
    The series has a good following, not great as I still have to go to work every morning. My pleasure in writing comes from hearing people like you that enjoyed the story. For anybody that hasn’t been following the story of the clans and would like to, just contact me at fabsfan419@aol.com and I’ll be more than happy to send you book one for free. Now that my unashamed plug has been delivered, I’m off to stick another pin in my George R. R. Martin doll.

    • cpbialois says:

      You’re welcome. I thought of that review when I got to that part. lol Loved how you handled it. Reminded me of the old saying rats trapped on a sinking ship. 🙂

      Very cool. Can’t wait to read it. Good luck! 🙂 No pressure on writing it. 😀

  2. edireland says:

    Reblogged this on CrazyEnoughToWrite and commented:
    The first review is in for the final book of my Chronicles of the Free People Trilogy. As I told the reviewer, for me as a writer, my greatest pleasure is hearing from people and that they enjoyed the story. I create my characters and try to give them as much life as possible so the readers will genuinely care about them and what happens in their lives. From the few followers of the series that I’ve heard from, it seems that I’ve been able to justify the care I’ve taken in creating the persona’s of the clansfolk.
    If anyone is intrigued by the review and would like to follow the wild and unforgiving tale of the Clans, just write me at fabsfan419@aol.com and I’ll be more than happy to send you book one for free. Now, sit back and enjoy the review…

Leave a Reply

