Mission Statement: Here Comes 2016

Good morning everyone!

Today is the last day of 2015, so let me be among the first to wish you all a Happy New Year! I hope all of your dreams and aspirations come true. 🙂

As we turn another page, I wanted to usher in the New Year with an update of what will be different and new in 2016.

I know, that statement has an ominous tone to it, but it’s actually pretty cool.

One thing that’s ending, and I’m sad to see it stop, is my Story A Day Challenge. It’s been an interesting and fun challenge to bring you different stories for each day. To be honest, it’s a challenge I never thought I’d complete. I was sure I’d make it to February before I ran out of story ideas. March at the absolute latest. Yet here we are. Only a few hours until my final story goes out.

This brought up an interesting question for me: Do I keep going or not?

Honestly, as much as I’d like to continue, I barely finished. While I did repeat certain themes over the last year, I think I did a pretty good job at keeping you guys on your toes when it came to plot twists and mind f—s (Sorry, but I love those twists!). I limped to the finishline idea wise, so looking toward 2016 I think it’s best if I end my challenge here. Maybe I’ll give it another go in a year or two. Who knows? What I do know is, I pulled off one helluva awesome task and I couldn’t be prouder. Thank you all for joining me. I hope you’ve all gotten as much enjoyment out of my Story A Day Challenge as I did.

Now onto my goals for 2016.

I want to continue the Poetry Corner and In the Books, so those aren’t going anywhere. I’m thinking of possible doing a flash fiction piece every Wednesday, but we’ll have to wait and see how that works.

Now for the big change.

I hope to have the final two books in the Sword and the Flame series out this year. Now, that’s not to say I won’t continue it at some point. It all depends on if my muse starts chirping in my ear again. I’m sure he will, as he doesn’t let things end without a fight. Lol

Another pair of series that’ll be coming to an end are my Eron the Great Epic Fantasy YA trilogy and the Winter Creek trilogy. Both had been loads of fun, and I’m looking forward to putting the finishing touches on them.

I’m also gearing more toward Horror and Sci-Fi in the upcoming year. I have several ideas for horror stories that I’ve been working on here and there, so I expect to have a few of those out in 2016 as well. They cover a couple several different genres like slasher, psychological, and mystery, so I’m excited to see how they’ll turn out.

I’ve also recently had an epiphany of sorts for an epic Sci-Fi story. It’s something I’ve been kicking around for a few years, and the final bit of Inspiration came when I started watching Red vs Blue. It never ceases to amaze me at how something can trigger our minds into developing complex ideas. 😀

My epic Sci-Fi is something that’ll push me creatively as I explore areas I haven’t aside from the occasional dabbling. I’m still putting the whole thing together in my head, but I do have the basic story idea and the technology and practices that’ll be used. The strangest thing about it is despite my love of science fiction, I’m only familiar with a handful of franchises or stories, so I guess that’s why it took me so long to formulate an idea. It actually sounds a lot like when I first started writing the Sword and the Flame series. With any luck, it’ll turn out just as much fun for us all.

My last bit of news is I’m hoping to release my Civil War Sweet Romance this year. I finished the first round of self edits a couple of days ago and found I either need to finish the second part that got away from me, or work to complete the story in one book. It should be an interesting experience either way.

That about does it for me. It looks like I’m going to be busy, but I’m looking forward to it. How about you all? I’d love to hear any news you guys want to share.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mission Statement: Here Comes 2016

  1. Congratulations on all of the hard work paying off with your book. But I’m going to miss your daily stories. I’m looking forward to reading your new works (long and short.)
    Happy New Year.

  2. edireland says:

    Well, who’s to say you haven’t lost your mind? You? Not likely my friend. Crazy people don’t know they’re crazy. I didn’t know until my wife pointed it out to me, bless her soul.
    LOL, seriously, you should be damned proud of that accomplishment. And, you should be thinking of putting it all into one book with a snazzy title like “The Highway To Loonyville Is Paved With Very Short Stories”. Or something along those lines.
    As for me, “The Last Ranger of Sarn” is due for release on or about 3/23/16. Right now, I’m as giddy as a prom date with an orchid in my hand and a pack of rubbers in my pocket. I started on the third book in the Huntress series, with Ranger being the first book, but I just can’t write for now. I’m actually too happy to bring the darkness I need into the story.
    For the year in general, I’d like to finish book three, “The Broken King”, finish the cookbook I started and possibly get another crime story out. It’s tentatively titled “Foremost Authority” and it features narcissism brought to a deadly extreme. Had the displeasure of meeting such a personality last year and it’s haunted me since. Then, on to book four of the Huntress…still not sure which story line I’ll do for that one. Depends on how book three ends. Isn’t pantser writing fabulous???
    Anyway, a very happy New Year to you and yours Ed and I’ll be talking to you again shortly.

    • cpbialois says:

      Thanks, Ed. Happy New Year to you as well. 🙂 I adopted the stance that I’m not crazy. I’m normal with a twist. No one really buys it, though. LOL

      Oh yeah, they are definitely going into a book. I’m just kicking around any extra content to add. I have a few ideas, so we’ll see where it goes.

      Sounds awesome! Congrats on your upcoming release! I’m with you on being happy. It’s hard to get those dark thoughts going at times. I like to use the people I pass on the street as inspiration as well. Some of them are real characters. lol

  3. TGHSLG says:

    Wishing you a happy, prosperous, and creative 2016.

Leave a Reply

