Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine Award

 

I was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by the awesome Vic Smith at VicStories (If you haven’t yet, check out his blog. You won’t be sorry. :))

The rules are pretty simple, so I’m sure I won’t mess this up. lol I have to answer eleven questions Vic chose for me, and then nominate bloggers I want to torment… I mean, hear from (Yeah, that sounds good :D). I agree that eleven bloggers are too many, so I’m going to stick with five as well. Besides, it’s fun to be different, right?

Here we go. Who knows? You may learn something new about me. πŸ™‚

Who do you see as the audience for your writing?

This is a tough one and is going to sound as at odds with everything you hear about marketing books. lol As a multi=genre author, I’m not a big fan of focusing on a single or even a couple of groups. I read to escape, so I look at targeting anyone that’s looking to lose themselves in a good story.

Which comes first for you, narrative or dialogue?

It depends on the story. Usually, I use a narrative style, but sometimes I have a conversation stuck in my head that turns into how the story is told. I’ve found it’s easier to be flexible than not with my muse. lol

Do you think that fiction must be entertaining?

Definitely. I hate to say it, but for me, I wouldn’t enjoy it otherwise.

Do you think that fiction should be educational?

I think it is by default. As authors, we put so much of ourselves and experiences into our work, there’s always something for us to learn.

Are you aware of other writers who have influenced your work?

Oh yeah. Pretty much everything I read influences me on some level. It’s amazing how we learn so much just by picking up some of their books.

A few of my influencers are Stephen King, Sue Grafton, Tom Clancy, J.K. Rowling, Mark Twain, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Robert Louis Stevenson to name a few.

Do you prefer e-book or print?

I love ebooks, but I’m a hardcore book sniffer, so until reading devices have a new book smell, print is my first choice.

How do you see the future for creative writing?

I think it’s going to be a bright one. I see so many writers that are now able to experience the thrill of having their books published and loving improving their craft that I get excited just thinking about it. πŸ™‚

Do you make much use of social media?

Oh yeah. I spend a handful of hours a day networking and/or researching for my writing. The online community has its good and bad parts, but I’ve met some of my best friends through these professional interactions.

If you could live in any time but this, which would you choose?

Oh crap. Um… okay… if I have to choose, I guess I’d have to go with ancient Greece. I love ancient history, the middle ages, and the 1800s, but ancient times have my heart.

What makes you sad?

Losing a loved one. Aside from obvious reasons, the idea that everything they were, had learned, or did is largely gone is heartbreaking.

What makes you happy?

Probably the best for me is seeing someone experience their dream to any degree. There’s something magical about someone’s enthusiasm when they get to do something they never thought possible.

My questions for my choices:

  1. What inspired you to write?
  2. Is there a particular writing memory that you’ll never forget?
  3. Do you write to the TV, music, or in silence?
  4. Fiction or non-fiction? What’s your preference?
  5. Do you imagine movie stars as your characters? Which ones?
  6. Do you have a certain persona you take on when writing?
  7. Who are your all-time favorite authors?
  8. If you could sit down with one author, who would it be?
  9. When’s your creative time?
  10. What vices do you have when writing?
  11. What time period is your favorite to write about?

Alrighty, now I get to select some of my fellow bloggers to take part. If they’re too busy to join in, I hope you take a moment to visit their blogs (Just click on their names) and say hi. πŸ™‚

Alex Laybourne

An awesome friend and one of the best horror writer’s I’ve ever read.

Shay West

A fantastic person and friend. She’s awesome at tying science with fiction.

Eden Baylee

A wonderfully supportive person, Eden’s fun and an awesome writer.

Michelle Cornwell-Jordan

She’s one of the most supportive people I’ve met for Indie artists and has written some great stories.

Ed Ireland

A great guy and awesome fantasy author. His books are some of my favorites.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in Awards, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Vic Smith says:

    Thanks so much for taking part. You are a lot more productive than I am. It took me days to get round to producing my post! Your replies were very interesting, as I knew they would be. Now I’m off to investigate the bloggers that you’ve introduced us to.

    • cpbialois says:

      You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

      Thanks! I’m not sure how it happens sometimes. Something just switches on and my procrastination switches off. lol

      Awesome! Hope you enjoy them! πŸ™‚

  2. edireland says:

    Hey Bud, thanks for the comments. I took the challenge and passed it on. It’s here at https://fanfictales.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/sunshine-blogger-award/
    Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

