In the Books featuring Rule of Fire by Autumn M. Birt

Good morning and welcome to this week’s edition of In the Books, featuring Rule of Fire (The Rise of the Fifth Order, #2) by Autumn M. Birt.

rule of fire

About the book: Six friends stand alone against the combined Orders of Fire, Water, Air, and Earth, protecting a girl whose forbidden abilities have condemn her to death. Now they are joined by a man who was once the Curse, the Church’s most powerful weapon and Ria’s greatest threat. Left with no name and no memory, the decision to aid this stranger will cost friendships and more as the group of friends journey north to seek a tribe of people lost to time amid an ancient war. The path home is riddled with dangers as the Church of Four Orders still seeks Ria and the former Water Priestess Nirine. For one High Priest, the desire for vengeance is personal.

Ria must unravel the mysteries of her power to find acceptance in a world where her abilities are considered a taint. Is the strange gift of magic an aberration that should be destroyed or something far more, related to the skills held by the Elementals who rule Myrrah?

The sequel to Born of Water, Rule of Fire is book 2 in the epic fantasy trilogy, the Rise of the Fifth Order. Return to the world of Myrrah ruled by the Church of Four Orders.

My Review: I was a big fan of the first book and I couldn’t wait to read this one. Picking up a short time after the first book, Rule of Fire expands on the world we were previously shown as we get to see more of it through the main character’s eyes, but also through the eyes of a high priest chasing them (Sorry, no spoilers).

As with the first book, the settings are well done and you feel you’re there from moors-like areas to dry and icy mountains. Going hand in hand with that are the characters. It’s fun to characters taken out of their comfort zones by traveling to different places during their quests. Having them deal with their environment makes the story more real for me.

While each of the characters were well developed, one of my favorites is still Ty. I’m a fan of the darker characters, and his mood swings remind me of myself when I was younger. Lol Unfortunately, he’s been usurped by the former Curse (Sorry, no name. That would be a spoiler). His ordeal at finding himself was an excellent side story. Nothing beats a tortured soul when it’s done right.

The story itself is smooth and flowing, but that can be misleading. While it’s a fast read, it’s not one that can be read in a couple of hours. In its own way, that makes it more enjoyable as we get to indulge for a greater length of time.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the third book in the series.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the Books featuring Rule of Fire by Autumn M. Birt

  1. Thanks for sharing this review.

Leave a Reply

