It’s Heeeerrrreeee!

Hey guys! Today the third novella in my Winter Creek Trilogy, The Winter Creek Witch, is live on Amazon and Smashwords.

Blurb: The sins of the past have come to roost in Winter Creek.

After witnessing the rise of another monster, Jay is forced to face his fears and come to terms with treachery from an old friend. Only by embracing his past will he find the means to save those he loves.

In the end, family is forever.

The Winter Creek Witch

Excerpt: A two-foot wide creek that fed into the river ran alongside his yard, separating his property from the wooded hillside. The creek was at its lowest point until the spring thaw, so there was a one-foot drop to the muddy rocks on either side of the water. Flat stones serving as steps were imbedded in the steep bank along the other side of the creek and led to a well-worn trail he used every evening to relax before bed. The path was the only break in the fading-green bushes along the water’s edge.

“Damn Loons. Why can’t they find something better to do with their time instead of bugging me.” Norm stepped across the creek without difficulty, and started climbing the bank. With his weight leaning forward, he used the head of the shovel as a cane to help steady himself, swearing the whole time at being pulled from his comfortable seat to fix some idiot’s idea of fun. “Can’t even enjoy a beer in peace anymore.”

Nearing the top of the bank, his shovelhead hit the ground and he stepped passed it as something rustled the bushes to his left before letting out a loud growl-like hiss. His mind immediately went to the nature shows about alligators, so he tried to turn and lift the shovel as a club in case he needed it, but his left foot slipped and his right caught on the other side of the shovel as he fell.

A snapping sound was followed by a jolt of pain shooting through his right leg as he fell backwards and rolled into the creek. He landed face down in the water a second before the metal head of the shovel clanked against the back of his head.

A surge of energy caused by the freezing water and adrenaline helped him find the strength to attempt pushing himself out of the water. His face lifted free as another growling hiss that sounded like laughter came from the bank. A second later, a great weight slammed into his back and pushed him under the water.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in Book Launch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Heeeerrrreeee!

  1. jamiewauthor says:

    Reblogged this on White's Wyrd World and commented:
    And the second post for the day. 🙂 Today, my husband releases the last part of his Winter Creek Trilogy. Congrats on the release, and happy anniversary. 🙂 Very proud of you!

  2. edireland says:

    Reblogged this on CrazyEnoughToWrite and commented:
    This is one series you should follow…

  3. edireland says:

    That’s great Ed! Hope it takes off 🙂
    Re-blogged on my blog.

  4. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    Check out this new novella by C.P. Bialois

Leave a Reply

