In the Books featuringEraden Tales and the Sword of Black Light by Kristin Vincent

Good morning and welcome to a new edition of in the books, featuring Eraden tales and the Sword of Black Light by Kristin Vincent.

eraden

Disclaimer: I received a free ebook copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

About the Book: Covered in thick forests, bright rivers and tall mountains of brown or white, the world of Eraden is a place touched by magic – and here in a forest far to the west, lived a young man by the name of Cadfayel.

It all started with the sword his grandfather had given to him so many years back. Only in recent days, something strange had come over that blade. Streaks of dark gray ran across the once white blade. Why this was? The boy wouldn’t stop until he found out. And he would; and with it begins what would be the boy’s destiny: The quest to restore the blade that is Eraden’s strength and battle the one who sought Eraden’s conquest hundreds of years ago.

Along the way, Cadfayel will meet new friends and allies such as a cheery dwarf, an obnoxious little goblin, a mysterious dark elf, the most nervous diplomat the lands had ever seen, a swordsman with a hidden past, and an adventurous, brave-hearted girl called Tenri. Friends and plenty of enemies as well; one who is none other than the dark East King himself and his army behind him.

Join Cadfayel and his friends as they set off through forests, up towering mountains, deep within an ancient maze – fighting against those who desire nothing more than to blot out the future’s light – to ensure Eraden’s future and freedom.

My Review: This is written in a style of Third Person Omniscient that isn’t used too much anymore, and it was refreshing. In this style, the author takes us into the characters’ heads while also dropping hints at what they would confront with the narrator’s voice. The latter is something that’s missing from many novels, and it took me back to my childhood and some of my favorite books.

I have to admit, it took a little bit to get used to the segues early on, but once I grew accustomed to the storytelling style, the book flew by. One of the reasons for that was the characters. Cadfayel is the prototypical here, but I really enjoyed his friend Falrid and his quick wit. It was entertaining to have a wise guy in the group to bring some comic relief.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story and look forward to reading more from this author.

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

