In the Books featuring End of the World: The Beginning (Book 1) by Nesly Clerge

Good morning and welcome to In the Books, featuring End of the World: The Beginning (Book 1) by Nesly Clerge.

nesly

About the Book: The year is 2050. The Order of World Society governs the globe, the weather, the currency, and all facets of people’s lives. The Peace for All Agenda is anything but peaceful. Scientist Gayle Conyers’ life in this new societal structure is orderly, routine, focused, safe. Then it isn’t. A renowned scientist forces her to work on a secret project that goes against her ethics and the Order. A protester warns her about the Order’s web of deception and the approaching end of days. Gayle soon finds herself with a foot in two worlds: A scientific realm that intends to alter humanity for all time, and a spiritual one, where she’s enmeshed in stories of prophecy, destruction, and the Apocalypse. Gayle remains skeptical. Until the Event that stuns the world, one that causes her to face the realization that this may, indeed, be the beginning of the end.

My Review: This is an interesting and awesome read for several reasons. The first is it’s basically a “What’s the worst that could happen” book that touches on the fears many have over the potential future of mankind. In short, it’s a typical dystopian story, but, more than that, it’s a perfect dystopian tale. By that, I mean it’s a page turning story with enough elements to makes us scoff or buy into what’s happening to the world.

And that’s the best quality to have in any book. We’re taken on a journey that plays on our own thoughts and beliefs, which can leave us confused as to who are the real bad guys: Are they the world government or the rebellious group holding onto their religion?

It strikes so close to home, I’m sure this story will be hated and loved, and, in my opinion, there really isn’t a middle ground as yet, but this is also the first book in a series, so my opinion could easily change.

The character are well written and engaging. Gayle and Michael are the atypical hero-style characters that flesh out the world around them and pose the greatest risk to the Order, but my favorite is the apparent villain, Dr. Karl Lee Armstrong. I’m a huge fan of the villains in stories and love how he’s written to be so secretive and appalling that leaves little doubt he’s the bad guy, though there is hope he may not be. lol. It helps secure my interest as he’s as complex and mysterious as Gayle and Michael, and I can’t wait to see what secrets he’s hiding and how it’ll help the rest of the series.

 

 

About CP Bialois

Where do I begin? Well first I guess it's only fair to say that CP Bialois isn't my real name. It's a collaboration I made out of the three greatest pets anyone could ever want. My real name is Ed and I'm just an average person that has found a way to do what he loves. For as long back as I can remember I loved to pretend. Whether it was with my Transformers, GI Joe, or He-Man toys I loved to create intricate plots and have them fight it out. As a fan of horror, science fiction, action, and comedy I dare say my taste in movies are well rounded. Some of my favorites were Star Wars, Star Trek, martial arts, and anything with Swarzenegger in them. I'd write my own stories about the characters I saw in the theaters or TV or I'd just daydream about what I'd see myself as the hero of course. You can't have a daydream without beating the bad guys, getting the girl, etc. It's just not right to envision yourself as a flunky or sidekick. As far as books I loved Sherlock Holmes, Treasure Island, Dracula, and the normal assortment. My early love was the Star Trek novels, I'd read them or the Hardy Boys relentlessly. For a time I could tell you the plot of over a hundred books not to mention comics. I have to come clean and say that I learned to read because of comic books. I was bored, make that extremely bored when we started to read in school. Reading "the cat fell down" really didn't interest me. My dad, who continues to astound me with his insight to this day, figured comics would work. With that in mind he went to the newstand in town and bought issues of Donald Duck, Scrooge McDuck, Tales From the Crypt, and Spider-man. He patiently read through them with me until I picked it up. Whether it was him or the comics I learned to read in about two weeks and for a while few were as good as I was. For years after that whenever we'd go out he'd always spring for a couple of comic books for me. While it wasn't exactly the perfect beginning everything I've ever read or have seen has influenced me in some way and now is the time I'd like to share some of the ideas I've had over the years with all of you. I hope you enjoy my stories, they're always fun to write and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the Books featuring End of the World: The Beginning (Book 1) by Nesly Clerge

  1. cwaugh212 says:

    This is a great review. You tease the reader into the “I want to know more” state. Well done.

  2. jvhuhta says:

    Interesting book. And the cover is as captivating as hell fire.

Leave a Reply

